May 13, 2022
  • May 13, 2022

Finding Auto Insurance In North Dakota After A DUI

By on December 3, 2021 0

Getting a DUI in North Dakota can have serious repercussions. The average increase in auto insurance premiums after a drinking and driving conviction in North Dakota is 89% per year. Rates range from a pre-DUI average of $ 1,264 per year to a post-DUI average of $ 2,395 per year. You can also face fines, license suspension, and even jail time. If you are a repeat offender, the penalties could be even more severe.

You are considered to be impaired in North Dakota if you have a blood alcohol level (BAC) of 0.08. For drivers driving a commercial vehicle, this limit is 0.04, and for drivers under the age of 21, it is 0.02. North Dakota also reserves the right to charge drivers for a DUI if their blood alcohol level is below these limits but their driving is impaired. If you received a DUI from North Dakota, you may be wondering how this will affect your car insurance. Bankrate’s research can help you understand the consequences of a DUI.

DUI Laws in North Dakota

The North Dakota DUI penalties are severe. With a first offense, for example, there may be a fine of $ 500 if your blood alcohol level is less than 0.16, and two days in jail and a fine of $ 750 if your blood alcohol level is higher. to 0.16. If your blood alcohol level is below 0.18, you could also be subject to a 91-day license suspension. If you have a blood alcohol level greater than 0.18, the suspension is increased to 180 days. You may also face an addiction assessment.

The second and third offenses over a seven-year period increase both the fines and the potential length of jail time. If you hit four or more DUIs over a 15-year period, you could face more than a year in prison, a fine of $ 2,000, two years of probation and more. At this point, your offense is considered a Class C felony, a serious classification that can remain on your criminal record for life.

The cost of DWI in North Dakota may also include participation in the state’s 24/7 sobriety program. This program requires regular testing, at the expense of the person, for the presence of alcohol. If the person fails the test, they can be immediately detained and jailed.

If it turns out that you are intoxicated while a minor child is in your car, even if it is a first offense, you could face up to a year in prison and a $ 2,000 fine. Refusing to take a blood alcohol test is also a felony and can result in the loss of your driving privileges for 180 days to three years.

Finally, if you are in an accident that injures someone else, you could spend up to five years in prison. If a person is killed in a DUI or DWI accident that you cause, you can go to jail for up to 20 years.

How a DUI Affects Your Auto Insurance in North Dakota

The cost of a DUI in North Dakota goes beyond state sanctions; your conviction is also likely to have a big impact on your auto insurance premium. The average increase in auto insurance premiums after a drinking and driving conviction in North Dakota and nationwide is almost 90%. This means that a DUI in North Dakota could almost double your premium.

Auto insurance rates increase after a DUI because the rates are based on risk. Someone with a DUI or DWI has engaged in risky behavior while driving and might be more likely to do so again, which can lead to an accident and subsequent insurance claim. To account for the increased risk of claims, auto insurance companies typically increase rates for high-risk drivers.

Instead of a higher premium, your insurance provider might choose not to renew your policy. Some insurers are simply unwilling to take on the increased risk of a driver with a DUI. You may need to shop around and find a new insurer willing to take on your higher level of risk.

Pre-DUI DUI position Percent increase
North Dakota $ 1,264 $ 2,395 + 89%
national average $ 1,674 $ 3,139 + 88%

Finding Auto Insurance After a DUI in North Dakota

You will likely see a substantial increase in premiums after a DWI in North Dakota, but you may be able to find more affordable rates. Based on research from Bankrate, Allstate, American Family, Nationwide, and USAA offer some of the most reasonable rates after a DUI in North Dakota.

If you are trying to reduce your auto insurance, you may want to take a few things into consideration. You can look for insurers that offer multiple discounts that you qualify for, as the discounts could lower your rate significantly. You can also think about the type of vehicle you drive, which has a big impact on your premium.

Auto insurance company Average annual premium after a DUI
Allstate $ 2,807
american family $ 2,052
At national scale $ 2,018
United States $ 1,959

Frequently Asked Questions

How will a DUI in North Dakota impact my criminal record?

First to third DUI offenses within seven years in North Dakota are considered misdemeanors, while the fourth and subsequent offenses within 15 years are Class C felonies. These will likely remain in your criminal record. your whole life. When it comes to insurance rates, most companies will overtax a DUI for five to seven years after the date of conviction. After this period – which varies by company – you might see a significant reduction in your fares, assuming you’ve been able to maintain a clean driving record since the DUI.

How Much Car Insurance Should I Have in North Dakota?

North Dakota requires drivers to have at least the following minimum coverage limits:

  • $ 25,000 civil liability for bodily injury per person
  • $ 50,000 in civil liability for bodily injury per accident
  • $ 25,000 liability for property damage per accident
  • $ 25,000 in uninsured bodily injuries by a motorist per person
  • $ 50,000 in uninsured bodily injury by a motorist per accident
  • $ 25,000 in bodily injury caused by an underinsured motorist per person
  • $ 50,000 in bodily injury to underinsured motorists per accident
  • $ 30,000 Injury Protection (PIP)

While these are the minimum requirements for driving legally, you may want to purchase higher limits for better financial protection. You may also want to add full coverage and collision coverage, which means you are purchasing a full coverage policy. If you have a loan or lease for your vehicle, your financial institution likely requires full coverage.

Methodology

Bankrate uses Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2021 rates for all zip codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, DC Rates shown are based on a 40 year old male and female driver with a clean driving record , good credit and the following comprehensive coverage limits:

  • $ 100,000 of civil liability for bodily injury per person
  • $ 300,000 liability for bodily injury per accident
  • Civil liability for property damage of $ 50,000 per accident
  • $ 100,000 in bodily injury caused by an uninsured motorist per person
  • $ 300,000 in uninsured bodily injury per accident to a motorist
  • $ 500 collision deductible
  • Global deductible of $ 500

To determine the minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used a minimum coverage that meets the requirements of each state. Our basic profile drivers own a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and cover 12,000 miles a year.

These are sample rates and should only be used for comparison purposes.

Incident: The rates were calculated by evaluating our basic profile with the following incidents applied: clean criminal record (basic), responsible accident, single speeding ticket, single conviction for driving while intoxicated and forfeiture of coverage.


Source link