Once the emergency is over, states will begin to reassess who is eligible for coverage, something they have been prohibited from doing since 2020 to ensure uninterrupted Medicaid coverage for low-income people.
The Biden administration has said it will give states 60 days notice to prepare. The public health emergency must be renewed every 90 days to remain in effect, and for now it is expected to end January 11, 2023. Medicaid and Medicare Service Centers requires states to develop plans for how they will manage the unfolding of the emergency.
Between February 2020 and July 2022Medicaid and Children’s Health Insurance Program registrations increased by more than 26% nationally.
Do Massachusetts need health insurance coverage?
Massachusetts health care reform law requires most residents over the age of 18 who can afford health insurance to get coverage for the whole year or pay a penalty on their tax returns, according to the state.
Tax penalties can be up to $1,908 per year for an individual, or $159 per month.
Penalties add up for each month someone fails to comply, but people won’t be penalized for a break in coverage that lasts less than three months. People whose income is less than or equal to 150% of the federal poverty level are not penalized.
Massachusetts residents must be enrolled in a plan that meets minimum eligible coverage requirements – the minimum level of benefits to be considered properly insured and avoid state financial penalties. The state says most plans meet MCC standards, and insurance companies must affix an MCC compliance notice to their plans to indicate whether they meet the requirements.
Residents can appeal penalties if they have suffered state-recognized hardship such as eviction, utility cuts, death, or bankruptcy.
Does Rhode Island need health insurance coverage?
Rhode Island health insurance mandate took effect on January 1, 2020requiring all residents, except those exempted by law, to have eligible health coverage – through an employer, purchased directly from a health insurance company, Medicare and Medicaid , or a health plan purchased through HealthSource RI, the state health exchange.
Rhode Island issues personal income tax penalties for those who do not enroll in health insurance. The state calculates the penalties using a “shared responsibility” spreadsheet. The fee is calculated either as 2.5% of one person’s annual household income or per person ($695 per adult and a supplement $347.50 per child under 18), whichever is greater.
As Massachusetts, Rhode Island offers hardship waivers, which people can apply for.
Do Vermont need health insurance coverage?
from Vermont individual health insurance mandate came into effect on January 1, 2020requiring most residents 18 and older to acquire acceptable health insurance coverage and report it on their tax return.
But unlike Massachusetts and Rhode Islandit is an individual mandate without bite. Vermont does not issue financial penalties for non-compliance. Instead, the state signals to the public that “it’s important that every Vermonter is covered,” telling residents that health insurance reduces the risk of costly medical bills; helps cover medications, provider visits and hospital care; and helps people stay healthy by paying for annual exams, screenings and vaccinations.
Vermont The law requires individuals to report on their state tax return whether they had health coverage for each month of the year.
What is the open registration period? How to get health insurance?
The national open registration period began on November, 1st and crosses January 15, 2023. For more information, go to healthcare.gov or your state’s health insurance marketplace website.
Rhode Island – HealthSourceRI
Massachusetts Health Connector
Vermont Health Connection
New Hampshire federally facilitated health insurance market
Maine – CoverME.gov
Connecticut – CT Health Access